In how many treaties will arbitration be introduced?

At the time of signature on June 7 there are 25 Signatories signing up for the arbitration provisions provided for in the MLI: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. This will lead to the introduction of arbitration to over 150 existing treaties. Most of the countries opting in for arbitration have opted for the default option of final offer arbitration (also referred to as “baseball arbitration”) as provided for in Article 23(1) of the MLI.